Now that my first book is up and available electronically, I thought it would be a good time to tell how the story’s idea came to be.

Many years ago, Harlequin announced plans to start a category (short word count romance) about what would happen if someone suddenly obtained a lot of money.  They were looking for stories set in the present day and set ups such as lottery wins or other approaches.  Since I tend to write historical romances, I knew any idea I came up with would not be appropriate for this new line.  Still I mulled the idea over in my head.

At that time every night after the children were in bed, I walked around our section of base housing.  How, I wondered, would someone in the Regency era suddenly acquire a great sum of money and what would happen then?

Of course, a lottery could work in that era, but I wasn’t sure I wanted to go that way.  Inheritances also were a possibility, but in historical romances, any wealth is tied to the title and its land.  Usually.  Actually land was entailed but not money (meaning the inheritor couldn’t dispose of the property without his heir’s approval.)

And there was my story situation.  She inherits the money that should have gone to him.  It’s obvious who the hero and heroine are and what the conflict is inherent within their relationship.  He expected to gain the fortune and wants it back, while she has her own plans for the money.  I even state it as part of the book’s blurb:  His Or Hers?

Ideas don’t have to spring fully formed in your head.  An author can take something she knows or heard about and twist it.  I have a very fond memory of my editor telling me she really liked this story because it had a plot she’d never seen before—and she’d edited traditional Regency romances since the late 1970’s when Signet Regency began their publishing line.  (The Spinster and the Wastrel was first published in January 2004.)

Now you know where that unique plot idea came from.

The Spinster and the Wastrel Cover

